Even More Painted Frogs

I came across these wonderful frogs at a steal of a price years back. They are from Eureka as part of the Pond Wars line of miniatures. They sat unpainted and unloved for years. I did assemble them, let them sit, then a kid dropped them and broke many of the parts. Talk about a motivation killer. Here recently, with my drive to test Speedpaints, I cleaned them up, primed them, and here we see the results.

I thought they were darker than they turned out. Almost every color on these is a mix of different Speedpaint colors; nothing is straight from the bottle. I tried to blend colors better and make the larger frogs transition from a green to brown, like the common frogs here in Virginia. The effect didn’t work.

Not that these turned out badly. They still look good and will fill out the ranks of my inexplicably growing frog forces. I can see the appeal of the miniatures, especially when painted. The Pond Wars game may be good or bad. No clue. But the miniatures look cool and a little silly, just my speed.

One of the reasons it took so long to paint these was that I had no idea how to use them in a game. I don’t own Pond Wars and don’t have the money to invest in that game. How do I use small frogs riding larger frogs? What rules can I use for them? What is the story that they fit with?

7TV Fantasy will likely provide the material I need. What I see is a game/TV show based on a kids cartoon. I already have painted up some Space Mouslings that I can use. Now a growing frog force. There are also a lot of fungus/mushroom miniatures in my pile that can make a third cast.

Or, warband for Frostgrave. Froggrave?

It may be interesting to put together a 7TV kids cartoon game. Maybe make things less deadly in-game. No real damage. Replace “-1 Health” effects with knocking the target down and pushing them back, maybe. Statuses (stati?) could still potentially lead to damage if you get the same one repeatedly. Maybe even remove the “death” aspect by having all characters down at 0 health just be knocked out. Add a mechanism for health sharing where another character can give health to knocked out allies.

Not a fully formed idea yet, but approaching one. My first 7TV game at home after buying the rules was with unpainted Space Mouslings. We used kids toy food and groceries as the terrain. A good time was had by all. Really just me and Son2. But the idea has stuck with me. Fill a table with food stuffs (fake, obviously) and have cute little critters fighting it out for the food. Could be fun. And, if I can simplify the rules enough, maybe open up the game to a younger set at conventions.

2022 Count:
170 figures painted (current rate 0.759 minis/day)
19 figures printed
152 figures purchased
4 terrain painted

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started