Mice!

I do not play GW games. I try not to reference GW games. I do not give my money to GW for their games or figures. I am a snob and derive enjoyment from feeling superior to others about their love of GW games.

Which is all a shame. And a bit of a lie. I will by GW figures on the cheap at swap meets. Some of their products have tempted me over the years. One of my all time favorite games, Heroquest, is really just a GW game. And some of their figure are just cool looking. Like the space marines; well, the 2nd Ed marines. The old school.

I liked the look. I didn’t like the price. But then Reaper decides to go and make something that I just couldn’t pass up and a much lower price point than the GW figures. Space Mouslings!

What am I going to use them for? That’s not the point. They look cool.

As expected, there is the leader. The sword is a bit chunky and the red on the cape didn’t quite work how I wanted, but the whole figure looks good.

You want a heavy, I got a heavy. Not sure what the real idea is here. You need two LRM launchers and, just in case, here’s a saw?

The idea of a mouse with a flame thrower is not one that immediately occurs to me. But this little guy looks great. And I got to practice more flash on the visor.

Three generic Space Mouslings. The white mice with their beady read eyes and their chunky power armor make an interesting scene.

Lessons learned? I need better red and yellow paint. It may not show much on the pictures, but the red and yellow I have are both thin with a clear medium. I have to put each one over a similar base coat which is about 50-50 on success. They are both Army Painter which does great for other colors. Just something off with those two.

More lessons? I don’t like Reaper bones. Which is a real shame. The price is right and the figures look great. Well, some of them look great. The detail on some of the figures in that Bones material is weak. The mice look good. But the paint goes on glossy. I have to hit the figure with way more matte medium than I would expect. Metal figure never do that to me. Bones? Every time I start to paint one, it looks shiny.

But that doesn’t stop me from giving them money. I try to have a few figures ready to paint at once so that I can use up excess paint. My extras this time were Reaper Bones War Pugs.

I’m sticking with a cute theme. They are a little large, but should work as dogs for 7TV or even for the Irish in Saga. A bit comical, yes, but so what?

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started