Pulp Figures: Sinister Spies

The rest of the package of spies I purchased at Historicon. These are Pulp Figures! by Bob Murch that I purchased from Your Hobby Place. One of them was 2021 Not a Santa, the rest are just pulpy spies waiting for a game.

Here’s another instance where I’m missing the references. I’m sure these each are meant to represent someone, real or character, but I don’t get it. Well, maybe. Fez guy here looks a bit like Humphrey Bogart, but I don’t recall him wearing a fez.

Our explorer here may be another reference. No guesses. But, I did pick up a Tarzan mini so this gent may be a good villain for those games.

I don’t know how to use this cold gentleman. He can clearly fit in for Cold War era settings or even earlier, but I don’t plan on doing too much of that. It may be amusing to use him as a spy in game where his outfit makes no sense. Even if I’m the only one amused.

I like the big guy, here. He can be a civilian, a spy, or an interesting character in his own right. You don’t find a lot of fat miniatures, even in civilian ranges. If we was seated he could work as a Nero Wolfe character in a vignette on the board.

What of the minis? What quality? These are very nice pieces. No clean up of flash, just one bent gun. Enough detail to be interesting and fun to paint without having to spend time picking out each button or edge. Pulp Figures! are always great to paint and look good. They are slightly on the pricey side, but that’s just because I’m cheap. You get what you pay for here. They are on the short size, but still fit well with my other 28mm minis.

2022 Count:
36 figures painted
18 figures printed
3 figures purchased

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started