LFTD 2024 Project: Scatter Terrain

It was getting obvious that there was a problem. My boards. My boards are flat and boring. My buildings are good, but there is too much open space. I was in desperate (relatively) need of more clutter. Clutter I got.

To paint!

My clutter comes from a previous Kickstarter from Terrain Crate. I highly recommend Terrain Crate, by Mantic, if you need some interesting scatter on the board. I don’t tend to build diorama-style terrain, but if you do, these minis will help flesh out your builds. Even as I use it, just tossing it in to add some realism, these tend to work. Some of the pieces are oddly sized and scaled. Some of the pieces are small and a little wobbly, but a bit of blue tack will secure them.

Episode 1 of the Lurkers From The Deep is industrial, with factories and office settings. Selecting those relevant minis gives me quite a bit to paint up.

Some of this is clearly meant for outdoor settings, some for indoors. The Episode doesn’t require terrain in the buildings, but I like the look and feel it adds. There should be stuff there. These buildings are in use. A desk, a chair, some boxes, a big honkin’ furnace… why not. More stuff for people to hide behind.

One potential problem with using Terrain Crate minis is that these are all a bit new for the storyline. The Episode is set in the 1920-30s. The characters, at least the townsfolk, and some of the vehicles are clearly of that period. But this scatter terrain is more recent. Not all of it; boxes are boxes. The desks, chairs, water-cooler, etc, are definitely more recent things.

Why not set the whole thing in a more modern time? No reason to keep it in the ’30s.

There is a lot more scatter to go for later Episodes, but this is sufficient for Episode 1. Most of the terrain is complete now. The tracks and the train cars are still lacking. Need a bit more focus there. But those train cars are tough to come by.

2024 Count:
60 figures painted (0.732 per day)
0 figures printed
8 figures purchased
6 terrain painted

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started