HeroQuest Project, Post 19: Sarcophagus and Bench

I am proud to have correctly spelled sarcophagus on the first try. Pathetic, yes. But why are you judging me?

The sarcophagus and the alchemist’s bench, two of the coolest pieces of furniture in HeroQuest. They just looked cool on the table. They set the theme nicely. Yeah, bookshelves and tables and chests are cool, but they don’t set a scene the same way as a sarcophagus.

For the sarcophagus I went with a mix of stone and metal. The topper is well detailed, especially for a Thingiverse model. I painted it with a dark grey and then dry brushed, heavily, with brass and touched up with gold. The effect is subtle, which is what I’m going for with the furniture pieces. The characters should stand out more than the furniture.

I tried to orient the model when I printed it so that the supports were either on the bottom or concentrated to one side. It kinda worked.

One problem I found with this model was that a small hole formed in one side where the print just didn’t cure right. It didn’t affect the model, but it left a little weep vent that I was unaware of, even after cleaning and trimming the model. Uncured resin kept seeping out as I worked on the model. Once I found the hole, it was easy enough to fill with super glue. Lesson learned, either avoid big cavities with no holes.

The alchemist bench has a lot of clutter. I mean, a lot. It makes it tough to paint. The model on Thingiverse offers separate files for the scales and bottles. If you are reading this and planning to print your own furniture, I highly recommend you print and paint those parts separately and then glue them all together.

The bench turned out well. Storage is tricky because I have to be careful that the scales and bottles don’t get broken, but that’s a minor issue.

2021 Count to Date:
95 figures painted
133 purchased
8 printed

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started